Your lifetime CV: Moderation or Glory?

experience-oregon-forest-landing

Fall is an amazing time of the year. It’s not only the visuals that capture your eye but the essence of living things that are changing around you. While it’s still one of the four unique seasons, for me the real magic happens only in autumn.

During the last few years my new habit was formed and it is the fall New Year Resolutions review and the CV update.

With my New Year Resolutions I’m always way ahead of my career goals and far behind with what I’ve set to accomplish in the other crucial parts of my life. Especially when it comes to the interaction with my family and friends who are the biggest life asset any person can have.

If I take those career facts into account, then, you can state that updating my CV should be a fairly easy task, right? But it’s not as easy as it seems)

Let the challenge begin!

Before this fall my CV contained:

  • the job objective
  • the list of positions
  • the summary of the tasks I performed

This year (since I try to be in HR-trends) I’ve changed all of above into:

  • summary of myself
  • the list of positions
  • the key results delivered

It was unexpectedly hard to make a short summary of myself – what I’m good at and how I want to position myself to an external community. The second issue is what kind of stuff I’ve done in each of my previous positions? Can I be proud of them or it was a mere maintenance with no risk or significant accomplishments?

Try to update you CV in the same way and check whether you’ve done a really good job or it was just #samestuffdifferentday

The story is not finished yet. What if you were asked to prepare a CV of your life? How would you summarize everything? What are your key wins? Will it take just a single passage or a few A4 sheets?

Try it and trust me, when you are honest with yourself during the process of putting things on paper, you might get scared, since the piece of paper can reveal that you’ve done a really poor job on your personal life. Nevertheless, you have a long journey ahead, so act and make your life CV look great.

Below is ‘Frogman’s Ballad’ from the movie ‘Lone Survivor’ which is the best example of a CV you might hear.

“Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

Kind regards,

Sergey

Image: oregonforests.org

2 responses to “Your lifetime CV: Moderation or Glory?

  1. Tried to prepare “summary of myself” one day. Left the page blank 😦 Either the task, or myself turned out to be too complicated. Created Rules of My Life and Job Rules in the Esquire style though… And that was fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Inna, I also have “perfect image” of future self stating what traits and skills I should resemble, etc. Then I compare actual me Vs. ideal state and make certain adjustments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

